Episode Four – Pie (Mary Berry Apple Pie)

I (Henry) think pie is where it’s at. When people think about baking – they’re usually thinking about pie. Everybody has a sentimental attachment to pie. Though it’s not technically that difficult to make (well, it depends on the pie, of course; and no, mine wasn’t perfect) pie elicts a sentimental response from most people. We all have our favourites – and it’s usually whatever was served on your birthday when you were a child. (Sentimentality is also the same reason most of you eat meat – but anyway, that’s for a different blog post).

I wasn’t entirely sure what a ‘double crusted fruit pie’ was, but it turns out it’s a pie with crust on top and bottom – so I’m calling mine the top-bottom fruity pie.

http://www.channel4.com/4food/recipes/chefs/mary-berry/double-crust-apple-pie-recipe

After a quick search into a search engine I realised there was only one recipe for me: Mary Berry’s Double Crusted Apple Fruit Pie. Now, you may have guessed it, but apple pie was *that* pie for me: my sentimental childhood culinary comfort blanket. I was happy occasionally to dip into the world of rhubarb – and very infrequently into the word of mixed berries – but I was always much happier dipping out again on my merry way back to apple! Rhubarb and Berries were ‘Cry Me a River’ (Julie London version) played on solo clarinet, and apple pie was  C&C Music Factory ‘Everybody Dance Now’.

Cry Me a River:

Everybody Dance Now:

So the question I know you’re asking yourself is, well, Henry, what did yours turn out like?

Well – it was a bit of a hybrid; an anarchic remix by @OFTV

https://twitter.com/OFTV

Firstly, I need to say that Mary’s recipe was a pleasure to follow. I couldn’t and wouldn’t fault it (well, I would if it genuinely had a fault). Instead I’m blaming the web editor who forgot to tell me exactly how big my baking dish should be. If you’ve read any of my other posts (and I’m guessing you haven’t), I’m a stickler for the details (and I have no life).

So…

There’s no point in my talking you through the recipe, because Dame Mary does a better job – what I *will* advise you is to buy lots of apples, and (depending on the size of the dish you opt for) really pile the apples high (I forgot that apples decrease in size when baked) so that your pie looks really fulsome.  My pie looked a little flat and could have done with an implant. The taste was also a little tart – but it was nice that you could taste the fruit rather than just the sugar. I served it with pouring cream which took the tart edge away.

My pie also resembled a sunflower, because I didn’t understand what to ‘edge’ and ‘flute’ meant – so i simply ‘cut’ and ‘pinched’ – and then added a sunflower on top for decoration. I’m a bit down that I did this, because my pastry was really well done and I probably could have given the pie the finish it deserved. I also wish it had gone a little more brown on the top, but this was not the case either, so maybe it could have done with a sprinkle more of sugar to help.

Either way. I definitely recommend this recipe for first time apple tarts as the result was quite nice and there was ne’er a bottom of sogginess around.

“Everybody dance now….”

1233535_10100647788977507_1319039021_n

Leave a Reply

