Sweet Buns – Raspberry Swirl Sweet Rolls

I (Babs) used this recipe. http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2012/12/16/raspberry-swirl-sweet-rolls/

For sweet buns I was happy that I found a recipe using yeast again. And it was fun to revisit kneading.  This time I used the dough hooks on our electric hand-mixer. This nearly killed the geriatric hand mixer and after I’d used it for 10minutes of kneading it was roasting hot and couldn’t go as fast as before. Thankfully the mixer is the oldest resident of my flat and no one knows who owns it, so I haven’t upset any flatmates.

The recipe wasn’t too difficult. It’s mostly about timings. But they turned out ok. If you ignore how insanely burnt they were. The bottom had caramelized and then burnt so I sawed them off individually. The tops were more difficult because chopping them off would make the dish look gross but leaving them there showed how burnt they were. Catch 22. Well no not really. I just chopped the top off one and then decided they looked better burnt.

I blame ‘some girls’ from BBC three because I was busy laughing at that when I could have been staring into my oven. Also I blame the oven that can only do one heat.

 

I may have been in some way responsible…

 

This recipe is really easy. There are two, two-hour proofs but really that just means you can crack on with your day in-between baking. I have to say this is definitely a recipe I’ll be making again. 

To quote Aodh “they actually spring back” (see we’re listening Mr. Hollywood and Ms. Berry!) So even though they look darker than you’d expect, they tasted lovely and were fine inside!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

